About Me and My Family

I am a 34 year old wife, teacher, and mom. For the past twelve years I have taught high school math and for a little over 2 semesters, Spanish. I have been married to my best friend for ten years, we dated for seven years before that, and we've known each other since 7th grade.

We had a German Shepherd named Jaina who was with us for nine years and a little princess of a cat named Feyla who was with us for fourteen years.  Even though they're no longer with us, they'll always be a part of our family.  In February of 2011 we had a daughter, Tera, who was diagnosed at birth with Down Syndrome and continues to amaze us in new ways every day and in July of 2014 we had our second daughter, Zoey, who was born twelve weeks early and spent nine weeks in the NICU before finally coming home to complete our family.  I have an incredible family and some of the best friends I could ever ask for.  They have always been supportive and we can count on them for anything.  I have three sisters and am incredibly close to them despite the fact that two of them live out of state.

I enjoy working out and competed in my first fitness competition a month before getting pregnant with Tera.  It was one of the hardest things I've ever done, but it was also one of my greatest accomplishments.  Other than working out, which has become increasingly difficult with an active toddler and now a newobrn, I love spending time with my family.  My husband and I enjoy traveling and New Orleans is our favorite city to go to.  It's also where we got engaged :) 

I love to read when I can, I'm a clean freak, a huge hockey fan, I have three tattoos with more planned, I drive a big truck, love skulls and zombies, and my husband and I are big fans of the heavier side of music.